

BUILDING UP A
NETWORK
OF EUROPEAN
LONG-DISTANCE RAIL
SERVICES

BERLIN, 30 SEPTEMBER 2021

Moderator:

Kristian Schmidt, Director Land, Directorate-General for Mobility and Transport, European Commission

10:00 – 10:20 Introduction and opening speeches

Walter Goetz, Head of Cabinet, Transport Commissioner Adina Vălean, European Commission Andreas Scheuer, Federal Minister of Transport and Digital Infrastructure

10:20 – 11:20 Panel discussion – Removing Obstacles to Long-Distance Rail

Enak Ferlemann, Parliamentary State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure Federal Government Commissioner for Rail Transport **André Schwämmlein**, Founder and CEO, FlixTrain

Dr. Richard Lutz, CEO of Deutsche Bahn, CER Management Committee Member Oldag Caspar, Team lead German and European climate policy, Germanwatch Christopher Irwin, Member of the Management Board, European Passenger Federation Monique Goyens, Director General, The European Consumer Organisation (BEUC)

11:20 – 12:20 Panel discussion: The Role of Rail to Make Mobility More Sustainable

Lorelei Limousin, transport and climate campaigner for Greenpeace EU

Kerstin Haarmann, Chairwoman at federal level, Verkehrsclub Deutschland e. V. (VCD)

Vera Fiorani, CEO and Delegated Administrator, Rete Ferroviaria Italiana (RFI)

Kris Peeters, Vice-President of the European Investment Bank

Dr. Ben Möbius, Managing Director, Verband der Bahnindustrie in Deutschland (VDB) Nick Brooks, Secretary General, ALLRAIL

Dr. Alberto Mazzola, Executive Director, CER

12:20 – 12:45 Coffee break

12:45 - 13:15 New Initiatives in Cross-Border Rail

Flash presentations by:

Ronald Pofalla, Member of the Executive Board, Deutsche Bahn AG
Ulla Kempf, Speaker of the Railway Undertakings Advisory Group, Rhine-Alpine-Corridor
Tobias Heinemann, Spokesman of the Management Board, Snälltåget (Transdev)
Michaela Huber, Member of the Board, OeBB Personenverkehr AG
Alexander Hedderich, Vice Chairman of the Board of RDC Deutschland

13:15 – 13:30 Concluding remarks

Walter Goetz, Head of Cabinet, Transport Commissioner Adina Vălean, European Commission Enak Ferlemann, Parliamentary State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure Federal Government Commissioner for Rail Transport

EUROPEAN YEAR OF RAIL **2021**

#EUYearofRail

Venue: Technikmuseum, Trebbiner Straße 9, 10963 Berlin

This event will be web streamed via www.connectingeuropeexpress.eu